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Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

 

Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit  
Application Packet 

 Submit applications to: Concealed Handgun Permit Unit, P.O. Box 66375, Baton Rouge, LA  70896 
 If you have questions you may contact the Concealed Handgun Permit Unit at (225) 925-4867, fax to (225)922-0225, 

mail to:  P.O. Box 66375, Baton Rouge, LA 70896, or email to: concealed.handguns@dps.state.la.us 
 Information can also be found at www.lsp.org/handguns.html 

GENERAL INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS 
Please read and follow instructions carefully.  Failure to submit application correctly will result in processing delays. 

1. CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT LAW – LRS 40:1379.3 
a) All applicants must read this law and swear to this fact.  The statute contains the eligibility requirements to 

receive a concealed handgun permit as well as the rules and regulations regarding the code of conduct of 
permittees. 

b) A copy of the “Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit Laws, Administrative Rules and Selected Statutes” can 
be found at www.lsp.org/handguns.html 

 

2. APPLICATION PROCESSING FEES (New and Renewal Applications) 
a) 5 year permits - $125.00 (65 years and older - $62.50) 
b) *Note* If an applicant has not continuously resided in Louisiana for the past 15 years an additional 

$50.00 fee is required. 

c) A fee schedule is listed in the “Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit Laws, Administrative Rules and 

Selected Statute.”  Initial application fees are found in LAC 55:I:1307.B.15.  Renewal application fees are 
found in LAC 55:I:1307.D.1. 

d) Fees are payable to the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections in the form of a 
cashier’s check, certified check or money order.  Personal checks and cash are not accepted.  Note: ALL FEES 

ARE NONREFUNDABLE. 
 

3. FIREARMS TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 
a) Louisiana law states that an applicant shall demonstrate competence with a handgun. 
b) Specific modes of demonstrating competence are listed in LRS 40:1379.3 (D)(1) for original applications and 

LAC 55:I:1307.D. for renewal applications. 
c) Applicants must provide a copy of proof of training with their original or renewal application. 
d) Approved firearms safety training tuition costs vary by organization and are not regulated by the DPS&C. 
e) A list of approved instructors can be found at www.lsp.org/handguns.html 
 

4. DOCUMENTS AND FILINGS 
a) You must submit a “New” permit application if: 

i. This is the first time you have applied for a permit in Louisiana. 
ii. Your previous permit has been expired for more than 60 days. 

iii. Your previous application was denied or your permit was revoked. 
b) Submit the completed, original application form included in this packet.  Please print legibly or type the 

data in the form fields.  Do not send a photocopied application.  
c) Photograph of Applicant: All applicants are required to submit ONE Color passport size photograph (2” by 2”) 

with the application.  The photograph must have been taken within sixty (60) days of the application date.   
i. The person that conducts the fingerprinting of the applicant must sign and date the back of the 

photograph. (Original Applications Only) (Renewal applications; no fingerprint card is required, 
however, a new photo must be submitted.)  

ii. SNAPSHOTS, VENDING MACHINE PRINTS, FULL LENGTH PHOTOGRAPHS, AND 

DIGITIZED IMAGES WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.   
iii. The photograph must be a full frontal facial view photograph taken in normal light, WITH A 

SOLID WHITE OR OFF-WHITE BACKGROUND.  
iv. Sunglasses, hats, caps, and smoking material may not be part of the photograph. 

 
 

---CONTINUED--- 

mailto:concealed.handguns@dps.state.la.us
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GENERAL INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS (continued) 
 

d) For purposes of obtaining a permit, “resident” is defined in LRS 40:1379.3(J)(3) and LAC 55:I:1305. 
i. For Proof that an applicant has resided within this state for at least six months prior to his/her 

application for a permit, the applicant shall submit with his application a photocopy of his 

valid Louisiana driver’s license or Louisiana identification card. 
ii. In the event the applicant’s Louisiana driver’s license or Louisiana identification card has 

been issued  within six months of application, proof of residency must be established by any 

one of the following: 

 United States Passport; 
 Louisiana voter registration card; 
 A utility bill, phone bill, proof of mortgage or rent payments in the name of the applicant 

which establishes a Louisiana permanent address of the applicant; or  
 Any other documentation that adequately satisfies proof of compliance with the 

qualifications for residing within this state six months prior to applying for a concealed 
handgun permit. 

 NOTE: For purposes of proof of residency, a business address or post office box 

shall not suffice. 

e) Photocopies of any other documentation, if required, MUST clearly show all names, signatures and other 
pertinent information. Copies which are too dark or too light and do not show all pertinent information cannot 
be accepted.   DO NOT SEND ORIGINALS, UNLESS SPECIFICALLY REQUIRED TO DO SO, AS 

THEY CANNOT BE RETURNED.  
f) Fingerprint card must be signed and filled out completely, including your name and signature, address, date of 

birth, place of birth, social security number (SSN – see below) and your physical characteristics (sex, race, 
height, etc.). 

i. Fingerprint card must be legible.  Fingerprints should be taken/rolled by trained fingerprint 
technicians on a complete, legible, and classifiable FBI applicant fingerprint card by a person 
employed by a law enforcement agency.  Fingerprint cards that are not legible will be returned to 
the applicant and will cause a delay in processing the application.  

ii. The social security number (SSN) is requested on the application in order for the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections to fully conduct a criminal history background check on all 
applicants as required by law.  The social security number will be used for Criminal Justice 
purposes only.  Such information will be utilized to verify identification and ensure that applicants 
have no arrests, convictions, or warrants that would make them ineligible for a permit.  Inclusion of 
your social security number is optional and will not constitute grounds for denial.  However, 
verification of your eligibility to carry a concealed handgun is not optional.  As such, failure to 
include the social security number may result in a delay of approving your application. 

g) FAILURE TO LIST ALL ARRESTS, DETENTIONS, AND LITIGATION MAY RESULT IN DELAY OR 

DENIAL OF THE PERMIT, AND OTHER CRIMINAL PENALTIES AS ALLOWED BY LAW.  If you 
have ever been arrested, charged, detained, indicted, or summoned for any criminal offense or violation, you 
must answer, “Yes” to the arrest questions and submit certified true copies of the final court disposition of 

the case with your application. 
i. This is regardless of the disposition or final outcome of the event. 

ii. You must list all violations of law or municipal ordinances, except those such as traffic violations 
(speeding, red light, expired license, etc.). 

iii. NOTE: The issuance of a Citation or Summons is an arrest and must be listed.  You must still list 

violations that were EXPUNGED, DISMISSED, or SET ASIDE through either Article 893, 

Article 894, R.S. 40:983, or for which you were PARDONED and you must provide certified 

documentation of each arrest with your application. 
h) IF YOU HAVE EVER BEEN DIVORCED YOU MUST PROVIDE THE DEPARTMENT WITH A COPY OF THE DIVORCE 

SETTLEMENT, DECREE, OR FINAL JUDGMENT ALONG WITH ANY OTHER ORDERS OR INJUNCTIONS OF THE 

COURT.  Failure to include this information will result in the delay of your application.  If this information was 
provided with a previous application it is not needed again.  

 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Office of State Police 

Concealed Handgun Permit Unit 

P.O. Box 66375 Baton Rouge, LA 70896 

www.lsp.org/handguns.html 
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Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

 

Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit 
Application 

A 
This application will not be processed unless completed in its entirety and submitted along with all supporting documents and application fees. 

Application Type 
 NEW PERMIT 

 RENEWAL PERMIT 

Current GP # (Renewal Only) For Office Use Only  
  

LEGAL NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE) 
 

MAIDEN NAME 

LIST ANY ALIASES OR LEGAL NAME CHANGES PARISH OF RESIDENCE 

RACE     ASIAN/PACIFIC ISLANDER                            BLACK      UNKNOWN 
              NATIVE AMERICAN/ALASKAN NATIVE    WHITE 

HOME PHONE NUMBER 

SEX 
 FEMALE 
 MALE 

HEIGHT WEIGHT EYE COLOR HAIR 
COLOR 

DATE OF BIRTH DAYTIME/BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (SSN) DRIVERS LICENSE NUMBER STATE LA IDENTIFICATION CARD NUMBER 

PLACE OF BIRTH (City, State, Country) ISSUE DATE OF D/L OR ID CARD EXPIRATION DATE OF D/L OR ID CARD 

CURRENT PHYSICAL ADDRESS (STREET ADDRESS) 
 

CITY STATE POSTAL ZIP CODE 
 

CURRENT MAILING ADDRESS (STREET/PO BOX) CITY STATE POSTAL ZIP CODE 

How long have you lived at your current address? From _______________________ to present. 

Previous residences – Complete this section if you have not lived at your current address for the fifteen (15) years preceding the 
date of this application.  Attach separate page if necessary. 

ADDRESS CITY STATE DATES 
FROM TO 

     

     

     

     

     

     

PLACE OF 

EMPLOYMENT 

NAME OF COMPANY/BUSINESS/FIRM, ETC. 

ADDRESS 

CITY STATE POSTAL CODE 

NAME OF SUPERVISOR CONTACT NUMBER 

MARITAL STATUS 
(Check all that Apply) 

SINGLE    MARRIED   DIVORCED   WIDOWED   
IF DIVORCED PLEASE 

PROVIDE DOCUMENTATION 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

DATE ENTERED CHECK NUMBER RECEIPT NUMBER INITIALS 
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ALL APPLICANTS: PLEASE ANSWER “YES” OR  “NO” TO ALL QUESTIONS BELOW.  Read each question carefully.  If you 
make an error, cross out the incorrect choice and initial the change.  If you answer “Yes” to questions 7-12, attach certified true copies of 

the court documents, or “Yes” to questions 13-19, have the treating physician complete the medical summary disposition  form. 
 

 YES 
 

 NO 
 
1. Are you a United States Citizen? 

 
 

 YES 
 

 NO 
 

2. Are you lawfully present in the United States? 
 

 
 YES 

 
 NO 

 

 
3. Are you a legal resident of the State of Louisiana? (Lived in Louisiana for at least the last six (6) months.)  

 
 YES 

 

 
 NO 

 
4. Have you continuously resided in the State of Louisiana for the past fifteen (15) years? 

 
 YES 

 
 NO 

 

 
5. Are you at least 21 years of age? 

 
 YES 

 

 
 NO 

 

 
6. Have you completed training as prescribed in LRS 40:1379.3 (D) (1) and LAC 55:I:1307.D? (Attach Proof) 
        You MUST indicate the  type of Handgun  you received  training with:   Pistol         Revolver         Both 

 
 YES 

 
 NO 

 

 

7. Have you ever been arrested for any criminal offense? 

 
 YES 

 

 
 NO 

 

 

8. Have you ever been found guilty of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to Operating a Vehicle While 
Intoxicated? 

 
 YES 

 
 NO 

 

 
9. Have you ever received a pardon or expungement for a criminal offense? 

 
 YES 

 
 NO 

 

 
10. Are you currently on probation or parole for a criminal offense? 

 
 YES 

 
 NO 

 

 
11. Are you a fugitive from justice? 

 
 YES 

 

 
 NO 

 

 
12. Are you currently subject to any preliminary or permanent injunction, or restraining or protective order, including but not 

limited to divorces, family or domestic violence? 
 

 YES 
 

 NO 
 

 
13. Are you an unlawful user of or addicted to Marijuana, depressants, stimulants, or narcotic drugs? 

 
 YES 

 

 
 NO 

 

 
14. Have you ever been committed involuntarily, or voluntarily admitted to any treatment facility, institution, or hospital for 

the abuse of a controlled dangerous substance as defined in R.S. 40:961 and 964 or for the abuse of alcoholic beverages? 
 

 YES 
 

 NO 
 

 
15. Have you ever been adjudicated mentally deficient or been committed to a mental institution? 

 
 YES 

 
 NO 

 

 
16. Have you ever been hospitalized for any form of mental illness or infirmity? 

 
 YES 

 
 NO 

 

 
17. Have you ever received medical treatment for a mental disorder of any kind by a licensed medical practitioner? 

 
 YES 

 

 
 NO 

 

 
18. Are you currently taking, or have you ever been prescribed any medication used for the treatment of depression, psychosis 

or any mental illness? 
 

 YES 
 

 
 NO 

 

 
19. Are you suffering from any mental or physical infirmity due to disease, illness, or retardation, which could prevent the safe 

handling of a handgun? 
 

 YES 
 
 

 
 NO 

 
 

 
20. Have you ever been denied a concealed handgun permit in any jurisdiction or had such permit suspended or revoked? 
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ARRESTS, DETENTIONS, AND LITIGATION 
If you answered “Yes” to questions 7-12, provide details below and attach certified true copies of documentation to prove disposition.  If additional space is 
needed, attach a signed statement providing the requested information listed below. 

Date of Arrest Charge Location (City/State) Disposition Arresting Agency 
     

     

     

     

MILITARY SERVICE 
 YES 

 YES 

 

 

 

 NO 

 NO 

 

 

 

1. Have you ever served in the Armed Forces of the United States? 
2. Are you currently serving in the Armed Forces of the United States? 
3. If Discharged indicate the type of discharge.   ________________________  Note: You must 

Provide Proof of Discharge. For example Department of Defense Form-214 (DD-214). 
        

 MEDICAL INFORMATION:  (ONLY NECESSARY IF YOU ANSWERED “YES” TO QUESTIONS 13 – 19.) 

Treating 

Physician 

Name: 

Address: 

Phone Number: 

USE THE SPACE BELOW FOR ANSWERING QUESTIONS FROM PAGE 4: 
 ATTACH ADDITIONAL SHEET IF NECESSARY 
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AFFIDAVIT of FACT 
 
 
 
 
 
 
STATE OF LOUISIANA                                                             PARISH OF ________________________ 
 
 

Affiant’s Name     (Printed) 
 

Affiant’s Address (Printed) 

 
 
I, _________________________, having been duly sworn, depose and say that I have read the foregoing 
application, and the contents thereof, and do hereby certify that my responses and information contained within 
this application are true and correct and they are an accurate account of the requested information.  In addition, I 
have also read, understand, and agree to comply with the statutes contained in R.S. 40:1379.3 and 1382, and the 
corresponding administrative regulations contained in LAC 55:I:1301 et seq.  I have executed this statement 
voluntarily with the knowledge that any failure to provide truthful information is cause for denial of my 
application or revocation of a permit, and that the making of any false statement or response in this application is a 
violation of R.S. 14:133, Filing False Public Records, a criminal offense punishable by imprisonment for not more 
than five (5) years with or without hard labor or a fine not to exceed five thousand dollars, or both.   
 
 
                                                                                              
                                                                                                                                             
____________________________________                                                                                                               
Affiant’s Signature 

 
 
 
Sworn to and subscribed before me on this _______________ day of _________________, __________ 
 
 
 
___________________________________           ___________________________________ 

   Print, Type, or Stamp Name of Notary Public                                               Notary Public 

 

 
 
My commission expires ____________________ 
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B INDEMNIFICATION AND HOLD HARMLESS AFFIDAVIT 
 

 
STATE OF LOUISIANA                                                           PARISH OF ____________________ 
 
 
 
BEFORE ME, the undersigned Notary Public, duly commissioned and qualified, in and for the Parish 
and State aforesaid, personally came and appeared: 
 
 

Affiant’s Name      (Printed) 
 

Affiant’s Address (Printed) 
 
Who being by me first duly sworn, deposed and said: 
 
     I, ______________________________, pursuant to R.S. 40:1379.3, agree to indemnify and hold  
 
harmless the state of Louisiana, the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, the Secretary and the  
 
Deputy Secretary of the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections, and any of its agents or  
 
employees, and any peace officer within this state, from and against any and all liability, claims, actions,  
 
fines or losses of any kind or nature, including costs and attorney’s fees, in any way arising out of,  
 
connected with or related to the issuance or use of my Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit. 
 
 
                                                                                                 ______________________________ 
                                                                                                                                                                            AFFIANT’S SIGNATURE 
 
 
 
 
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME ON THIS ___________ DAY OF _____________, 
___________ 
 
 
_________________________________         _________________________________________ 
 PRINT, TYPE OR STAMP NAME OF NOTARY PUBLIC                                                                  NOTARY PUBLIC 

 
 
 
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES _____________________________________ 
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C AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF MEDICAL AND 
PERSONAL INFORMATION 

 
STATE OF LOUISIANA                                                      PARISH OF ______________________ 
 
TO:     Any physician, psychologist, social worker, hospital, clinic, or other health care provider, law enforcement                             
           agency or officer, any branch of the Armed Forces of the United States, or any individual or institution 
having information about me. 

 
 
BEFORE ME, the undersigned Notary Public, duly commissioned and qualified, in and for the Parish and State 
aforesaid, personally came and appeared: 
 

 
Affiant’s Name     (Printed) 
 

Affiant’s Address (Printed) 
 

Who being by me first duly sworn, deposed and said: 
 

I, _________________________, do hereby give my consent in authorizing full disclosure and review of all 
records and information, verbal or written, concerning myself to any duly authorized agent of the Louisiana 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Concealed Handgun Permit Section, 
whether said records are public, private, confidential, or privileged in nature.  I further understand that if any of 
the records obtained are confidential or privileged, the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
will maintain the privilege or confidentiality of such records. 
The intent of this authorization is to give my consent for full and complete disclosure of any and all medical, 
criminal, or other personal information regarding me, including but not limited to physical, psychiatric, or 
substance abuse treatment and/or consultation records, and all records pertaining to my conduct such as 
background reports, criminal history records, etc.  I further understand that this release will only be used to obtain 
information for the purpose of determining my eligibility for a Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit. 
I understand that any information obtained through a medical or personal history background investigation which 
is developed directly or indirectly, in whole or in part, upon this release authorization will be considered in 
determining my eligibility for a concealed handgun permit.  I also certify that any person(s) who may furnish 
such information concerning me shall not be held liable for giving this information, and I do hereby release said 
person(s) from any and all liability which may be incurred as a result of furnishing such information. 
I also understand that a reproductive copy of this release affidavit shall be for all intents and purposes as valid as 
the original.  I request and appreciate your full cooperation. 
This release shall be and remain valid from the date of execution until the expiration or revocation of any 
concealed handgun permit issued to me pursuant to this application, or until my application for a concealed 
handgun permit has been denied pursuant to a final judicial decision. 
 

______________________________ 
AFFIANT’S SIGNATURE 

 
 

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME ON THIS ________ DAY OF ______________,  
 
__________________________________          _____________________________________ 
PRINT, TYPE OR STAMP NAME OF NOTARY PUBLIC                                                                   NOTARY PUBLIC 

 
 
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES _____________________________________ 
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Required Documents Checklist 
 
  

 Application with the 3 affidavits completed and notarized. 
 

 Passport type photograph described on pages 1 & 2. 
 

 Copy of Louisiana Driver’s License or Louisiana Identification Card. 
 

 Correct Fee as described in Rule Booklet. 
 

 Proof of Training as described in Rule Booklet. 
 

 Certified True Copies of court minutes as requested in “Arrest, Detention, and                 
     Litigation Section.”  If you have not been arrested this is not applicable. 
 

 Medial Summary Disposition completed by the treating physician or a copy of your  
     medical records.  If you answered yes to any of the medical questions this information    
     must be provided. 
 

 If divorced, copies of the divorce settlement, decree, or final judgment along with any  
               orders or injunctions of the court. 
 
           A copy of your DD214, if you have served in the U.S. Armed Forces 
  
           Two sets of fingerprints on an FBI Applicant Card.  If your fingerprints have been  
       taken electronically by a sheriff’s office or local police department, you must submit  
       two separate sets of fingerprints. 
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