
 Louisiana Child Passenger 
Safety Law

Ride in a belt positioning booster seat (backless 
or high backed) 

•       At least 40 pounds to 60 
pounds  
or at least 4 years old to 6 years old 

Ride using the vehicle lap-shoulder belt or belt 
positioning booster seat 

•       At least 6 years old or at least  
60 pounds 

Ride forward facing in convertible or combination 
seat (used with the internal harness)  

• At least 1 year and at least 20 
pounds to 40 pounds 

Ride rear-facing in an infant or convertible seat •      Birth to at least 1 year and     
less than 20 pounds 

Restraint Use Age/Size 

Convertible seat: May be used rear facing (5-30 pounds) or forward facing to 40 pounds 
Combination seat: May be used forward facing with internal harness to 40 pounds, then the harness is removed and it may be used as a belt-positioning booster with 
vehicle lap-shoulder belt to 80/100 pounds  
A child who because of age or weight can be placed in more than one category shall be placed in the more protective category. 
If there is an active passenger side airbag shall ride in the back seat, if a back seat is available. 
Always read car seat instructions (for specific wt/ht limits) and vehicle instructions for installation guidance. 
For more information, call Bridget Gardner, Program Director, Louisiana Passenger Safety Task Force, MCLNO Trauma Center (504) 903-3181 or 
Bgardn@lsuhsc.edu. 
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